試用或安裝

按照下面的步驟 – 除非你希望購買一臺預裝 Linux 的電腦,你將會在你的電腦上體會到自由的可貴。

試用:Live CD

不須承擔風險

使用 Live CD 表示 GNU/Linux 會在不安裝任何軟體的情況下在你的電腦上執行。這是讓你親自試用,並就近觀察 GNU/Linux 但風險最低的方法。

在 Live CD 模式時,電腦只會單純的使用光碟機運作(並不會存取機器內部的硬碟)。你可以執行所有預裝的程式、編輯文件,以及瀏覽網路等。

因為這被設計為試用模式,所以可能會有點慢(視情況而定,你可能需要幾分鐘來啟動你的系統,而程式啟動可能會有點緩慢)。如果安裝在你的電腦上,運行速度將會快非常多。

你需要什麼

要使用 Live CD ,你需意一點好奇心以及幾十分鐘的時間,不需要具備進階的電腦知識。如果你在日常生活中會操作 Windows,那麼這個對你也不成問題。

以多重開機模式安裝

選擇一個開機模式

將 GNU/Linux 跟 Windows 安裝在一起是可行的,也就是說,在開機時,你將會在螢幕上看到選擇你想開機的作業系統選單。

如果放棄受限制的軟體需要時間,你可以選擇安裝雙系統, 而這並不困難,雖然將 Windows 徹底刪除會更加簡單。

你需要什麼

在你的電腦上安裝 GNU/Linux 只需要不到 30 分鐘,這對完全新手而言並不是很淺顯的步驟,但假如你經常使用電腦的話應該不難。尤其是在電腦上重灌過 Windows ,那安裝 GNU/Linux 的步驟並不會比較難。

取得需要的 CD

對於我們推薦的這些散布版而言,Live CD(或是 DVD)和安裝時使用的 CD 是相同的。你可以自己下載並燒錄一張,或者從你信任的發行商手中取得這些 CD。

你可以下載 ISO 映像檔(一個蠻大的檔案)然後將其燒錄為一張 CD 或者 DVD或是建立可開機的隨身碟。之後你便可以用它將 Ubuntu 安裝進你的電腦

Fedora 的 Live CD 同時也可以用於安裝。你可以根據 Fedora 安裝指南開始使用 Fedora。

注意:購買或者下載的 CD 是相同的!GNU/Linux 是自由軟體。你僅僅負擔了手續/運費而已。

預裝自由軟體

並不是所有的電腦都是預裝 Windows 的。如果你不想要自己動手安裝,或是需要新的硬體,你可以選擇購買預裝 GNU/Linux 的筆記型電腦或是桌上型電腦。因為這個原因,LinuxPreloaded.com已經為你寫好一份販賣預裝 Linux 作業系統的電腦廠商列表。

Try or install

Make the step – unless you wish to purchase a PC with GNU/Linux pre-installed, you can see what freedom looks like on your computer.

Try out: the live CD

Take no risk

Using a live CD means that GNU/Linux will be running on your computer without installing anything. It's a risk-less way to try and see by yourself what GNU/Linux is.

When running on a live CD, your computer uses solely the CD-ROM to work (without accessing the hard drive inside). You can launch all of the default programs, edit documents, and browse the web.

Since it is only designed as a trial mode, it is a little slow (it will take you five minutes to boot up, and programs launch somewhat slowly). If you proceed to install, the system will go much faster.

What you need

To use a live CD, you need a little bit of curiosity and fifteen minutes of free time, but no advanced knowledge in computing. If you feel confident simply using Windows from time to time, then this is within your reach.

Installing as a dual boot

Choose at start-up

It is possible to install GNU/Linux along with Windows. This means that upon start-up, you will be greeted with a screen allowing you to boot into the operating system you prefer.

Setting up a dual-boot can be helpful if you need time to abandon restrictive software. It is not difficult to set-up, though erasing Windows altogether is even easier.

What you need

Installing GNU/Linux on your computer will take you less than 30 minutes. It is not an obvious step for complete beginners, but if you use computers on a daily basis this is very likely within your reach. If you have already re-installed Windows on your computer, rest assured that installing GNU/Linux is no harder.

Get the CD you need

For the distributions we recommend, the live CD is the same as the installation CD. You can download an ISO image (rather large file) and then create a bootable USB stick (recommended) or burn it to a CD (may be necessary when installing GNU/Linux on an older system which can not boot from USB). You can then use it to install GNU/Linux onto your computer.

Fedora Media Writer is the easiest way to try or install Fedora. It makes it easy to create a bootable USB stick or CD.

The Trisquel installation is very similar to that of Ubuntu.

Note: Purchased and downloaded CDs are identical! GNU/Linux is free software. You are simply paying a handling/shipping fee.

Free Software pre-installed

Not all computers are shipped with Windows. If you do not wish to make the install yourself, or are in need of new hardware, you can get a laptop or a desktop pre-installed with GNU/Linux. LinuxPreloaded.com has compiled a list of vendors pre-installing GNU/Linux just for that reason.