没有自由选择

微软为了确保用户在他们产品的严格控制下而做出了巨大的努力。

中国每年卖出 3 百万计算机,但人们却不为软件付应付的费用。

总有一天他们会付钱。只要他们想用盗版[sic],我们就希望他们盗版我们的程序。他们会上瘾,然后我们就能在十年后找到收钱的方法。

Bill Gates, 1998 采访

对开放标准的支持非常差

我们有开放的文件格式和开放的协议,它们分别都被很好地标准化来用于文件的保存和数据的传送。它们在现在与未来都可以被任何人在任何计算机上读取。可是,专有软件很少支持它们的。

很长的一段时间,Microsoft Office 只支持微软自己的文件格式。有很多很多的方式进行文档工作,可是Office用户已经紧紧地被Microsoft Office文件格式绑架了。人们如果不愿意为微软昂贵的产品付费,就无法可靠地读写.doc文件。

当然,有很多其他的创作和交换办公文档的方式——最出名的就是 开放文档格式(the OpenDocument Format)了。但是微软并不打算让世界变得如此自由。直到 Microsoft Office 2007 SP2,由于欧盟反垄断诉讼,微软才很不情愿地添加了 ODF 格式支持。

文件标准总是在不停改变

坚持微软的文件标准并不是一件简单的工作——即便您可以承受不断升级的费用。您经历过在 Office 95 和 Office 97 间传输 .doc 文件的痛苦吗?如果有,您会理解我在说什么的。

微软拥有着 Office 文件格式:他们在每次 Office 更新中都会改变并且不向后兼容。如果您将您的演示文稿保存成 .ppt 格式,明年当您使用 Microsoft Office 时,您就不得不依赖于社区对这个文件格式的反向工程来修改您的文件了。

默认软件是不可卸载的

您不希望在您的计算机上出现 Windows Media Player 程序吗?您尝试过卸载 Internet Explorer 吗?很抱歉您肯定失败了。他们曾经是独立的程序,但是现在已经被紧紧地绑定与 Windows 之中——他们出现在几乎每一台计算机,永远无法躲开。

垄断实践

微软紧紧地控制着OEM厂商(计算机制造商),并强迫他们在每一台计算机上安装 Windows 操作系统。
这意味着您能买到的绝大多数电脑中,都没有预装能与微软竞争的产品,比如多媒体播放器网页浏览器办公套件或者即时通讯软件

像微软一样提供覆盖全球的软件和服务是一件很好的事情。可是,设计并结合使得非微软用户无法使用这些文档却是一个很不道德的行为。采用更多的开放格式并不是一个技术难题,但是这会导致更多的消费者获得更多的选择自己需要什么的自由——这并不是微软想要看见的。

What about choice?

Microsoft works hard to make sure their users stay locked into their products.

About 3 million computers get sold every year in China, but people don't pay for the software.

Someday they will, though. As long as they are going to steal it [sic], we want them to steal ours. They'll get sort of addicted, and then we'll somehow figure out how to collect sometime in the next decade.

Bill Gates, 1998 interview

Poor support for open standards

There exist open file formats and protocols, which are standards to store and carry many types of information, respectively. They are openly specified: they can be read by anyone on any computer, now and in the future. Proprietary programs, however, rarely support them.

For a long time Microsoft Office only had support for Microsoft formats. There are many ways to write work documents, but Microsoft Office users were bound to Microsoft Office files. People who opted without expensive Microsoft products cannot write and read .doc files very reliably.

There are of course other ways of writing and exchanging office files, the most well-known being the OpenDocument Format. But Microsoft isn't keen on letting Office users exchange files anyone can read and edit. As of Microsoft Office 2007 SP2, Microsoft finally added support for the ODF format after being pushed by the European Commission.

Standards that change all the time

Sticking to Microsoft standards is not an easy job – unless you can afford to upgrade very often. Ever tried to work on the same .doc file with both an Office 95 and an Office 97 computer? You'll know what we mean.

Microsoft owns the Office file formats: they change them with every new Office version and have no obligation to keep them backwards-compatible. Saved your presentation as a .ppt file? If you give up using Microsoft Office next year, you'll have to rely on other communities to reverse-engineer the format, to be able to access and modify your own work.

Default programs you can't uninstall

Don't want Windows Media Player on your computer? Don't use Internet Explorer anymore? You can't uninstall these programs. They previously worked on a standalone basis, but have been intrinsically linked with Windows – so they come in with every PC and no one can get rid of them.

Monopolistic practices

Microsoft has a tight control over OEMs (computer manufacturers) who ship their computers with Windows installed.
This means that no program competing with Microsoft products, be it multimedia player, web browser, office suite, instant messaging program or other, will come pre-installed on most computers you can buy.

It is a good thing to propose a wide range of software and services like Microsoft do; however, designing and combining them to shut users from non-Microsoft peers is unethical. It's not technically hard to adopt more open formats. But it means your customers are free to choose what they do with their work – Microsoft isn't there yet.