為了自由的社會

軟體的價值比起是否值得信任(例如採「開放源始碼」開發)更重要:真正的重點是你能透過它所獲得的自由。即你是否能從中學習?你是否能以它為基礎繼續往上構建?你是否能再度將它散布給別人?這些價值就是我們所說的「自由軟體」。

我想到了新的詞語、成語、比喻、還有各種英語中的趣味,而人們改述我說過的話,並且透過談論那些我曾說過的話來賺錢。

如果我試著把我所說過的話和所寫的字封鎖起來,就像是專有軟體公司所做的一樣,那麼所有演說、寫作、媒體相關的產業都將很容易被告上法院,還有和解的費用都會高昂地令人望而卻步。

Don Marti, 2005年的訪談

並非是瘋狂的理念

這對於許多使用者來說聽起來可能很奇特,因為微軟的任何一個產品都不曾給予過使用者這種自由。我們的社會正在為這種自由而努力著,例如:

  • 沒有廚師會禁止你修改他的食譜,然後從其變化出更棒的佳餚。食品產業依規定只必須將成份列在標籤上,但依舊可以蓬勃發展。
  • 一個公平的司法體系允許任何人閱讀所有的聽審以及證據。不僅只是結果(最終的審判結果)而已,還要這整個過程完全公開。

自由軟體並不僅僅在「言論」上是自由的,在「市場」上也是自由的:這些在自由的社會中都是必要的。不服氣?讓我們再來仔細瞧瞧專有軟體吧。

專有軟體走向錯誤的道路

專有軟體的限制不只是安全問題(請見我們有關源始程式碼的文章):今天專有軟體對文化與資訊傳播的干涉,主要是採取了以下兩種技術:

數位限制管理 1 (Digital Restrictions Management, DRM)

DRM 1 的主要想法是限制檔案的存取權。例如,如果使用者在 iTunes 上面購買了音樂,那麼他們就只能在自己的播放器上面播放這些音樂,透過這些手段,音樂公司成功的打擊著作權侵害,但同時也嚴重地限制了使用者要如何運用這些檔案。

DRM 控制了內容

只是控制的權利並非掌握在終端用戶手中。DRM 的本意相當清楚,但是對於社會中資訊和文化的流動所造成的影響卻令人感到畏懼。

  • 想像一本書在閱讀完以後會自動黏死。
  • 想像一下試圖帶出房間就會自動銷毀的文件。
  • 想像必須要對方跟你租借同樣製造商以及型號時才會接通的電話。

聽起來很瘋狂嗎?這就是信任式運算的由來。

信任式運算 (Trusted Computing, TC)

信任式運算 (Trusted Computing) (有時候更準確地稱之為「放任式運算 (Treacherous Computing)」)代表一臺電腦只能執行「信任的」軟體。其目的是為了防止滋擾(如病毒或間諜軟體)或是著作權侵犯(例如人們複製專有軟體)。

信任式運算控制了電腦

信任式運算所帶來的最嚴重的問題是,你無法決定哪些是可信任的而哪些不是。例如,你的電腦可能會拒絕執行那些不被軟體公司所認可的軟體 – 這可能是允許你把文件帶出你的辦公室,或是播放你鄰居的 DVD,或是將你的文章寄給一個並非使用相同程式的人之類的軟體。

這所有因而開啟的可能性使得各公司(專有軟體公司或是音樂公司)可以透過限制你的電腦該如何使用而獲益。或許有一天,租到一張只能播放兩次的 DVD,或是只能在 9月份才可以聽的音樂,又或是只能供你閱讀但不能儲存或複製的資訊,都可能在轉瞬間成為現實。突然之間,信任式運算以及 DRM 開啟 遠端控制 住內容的可能性。

信任式運算,就實際影響來說,就是讓發行單位去編寫屬於他們自己的著作權法。

更廣泛的影響

許多文化產品現在都有了「三重保護」不只是著作權和法律,還有許多的契約及授權條款來讓使用者放棄所剩無幾的權利。

越來越多的數位內容著作權被需要讓終端使用者點擊通過的終端使用者授權條款取代,發行單位使用契約法建立了原本著作權法拒絕給予的絕對財產權。

Rosemary Bechler, Unbounded Freedom

電腦已經不只是用來計算而已了。我們使用軟體溝通:包括分享資訊、想法、以及文化。軟體在我們的電話、車子、媒體播放器、電視中隨處可見,並開始掌管我們身邊的每項新設備。

軟體逐漸被用來強制執行規則。規則可以是,也可以不是法律。規則可能公平也可能不公平。如果軟體不是自由的,那麼使用者永遠也不會有機會改變這些規則。

想想未來,文化和資訊不再只是轉化成產品(它們現在是,那還好),而成為了一種消耗性產品。信任式運算和 DRM 正為這樣的社會鋪了一條新路。

源碼就是力量。今天許多的工作文件是在專有軟體中編寫完成的,它們被寫於、編碼於秘密的演算法中。而明天的書本、攝影作品、電影、文章、動畫、音樂甚至新聞會是什麼樣子?像 Windows 這樣的專有軟體沒有任何透明可言。一個自由的文化和自由的社會無法受益於諸如此類的軟體而成長茁壯。

我們可以建議你擁抱 GNU/Linux 嗎

  1. ^ 注意:DRM 一般是「數位權利管理 (Digital Rights Management)」的簡稱。雖然它確實有做一些關於著作權的事情,但「數位限制管理 (Digital Restrictions Management)」會是更準確的稱呼。

深入瞭解

閱讀的權利

信任式運算的世界看起來是什麼樣子?這是一篇由自由軟體之父理查・史托曼 (Richard Stallman) 所寫的短篇故事,闡述了信任式運算如何影響我們之中的任何一個人。

DRM

一篇由 Tim Jackson 所寫,關於 DRM 的好文章,我們這篇文章就是根據它所寫成的。

自由的知識需要自由軟體和自由的檔案格式

一篇由自由的維基百科聯合創始人 Jimmy Wales 所創作,引人入勝的專文。

信任式運算

由 Benjamin Stephan 和 Lutz Vogel 創作的短片。一則清晰、活潑、令人信服的論述。

為什麼軟體不應該被誰專有

一段理查・史托曼 (Richard Stallman) 為自由軟體運動所寫的非常重要的文字。它闡述了關於抵制的共識,並解釋了自由軟體運動的重要思想。

對自由軟體的常見誤解

本網站上更多關於自由軟體的解說內容。

Stand for a Free Society

There is much more to software than being trustworthy (being "Open-Source"): what really counts is the freedoms you get over it. Can you learn from it? Can you build upon it? Can you distribute it? That's what we refer to as "free software".

I come up with new words, phrases, analogies, all kinds of fun stuff in the English language and people paraphrase what I had to say and make money talking about some of the same things that I did.

If I try to lock down what I talk about and write about, the same way as a proprietary software company does, then the whole industry of speaking, writing, media, would be overly litigious, and transaction costs would be prohibitive.

Don Marti, 2005 interview

Not a crazy concept

It sounds peculiar to many users that software should be free as in freedom, since none of Microsoft's products are. Yet our society works with many free things in it, for example:

Though no one has a proprietary lock on yoga, it is still a thriving $30 billion business in the United States.

Venkatesh Hariharan [1]
  • No chef would ever forbid you to modify his recipe and make derivatives out of it. The food industry thrives despite being required by law to list ingredients on product labels.
  • A fair law court system permits anyone to read through all the trial hearings and arguments. Not only the result (the final deliberations), but also the process is fully open.

Free software is free as in "free speech", as in a "free market": all are necessary for a free society. Unconvinced? Let us look at proprietary software a little closer.

Proprietary software going wrong

The limits of proprietary software go beyond the security issue (see our article on source code): today proprietary software interferes with the spread of culture and information. This happens mainly through two technologies:

Digital Restrictions Management 1 (DRM)

The main idea of DRM 1 is to restrict access to files. Users encounter this when, for example, they purchase music through iTunes, and then can only play their music with one player, from one brand. With this method, companies fight copyright infringement, but they also severely restrain users' access to their files.

DRM is control over content

Except that the control is not in the hands of the end-user. The original purpose of DRM is understandable, but the implications over the flow of information and culture within a society are frightening.

  • Imagine a book that automatically became glued shut after you read it once.
  • Imagine documents that self-destructed if you tried to take them out of the room.
  • Imagine telephones that only worked if the person you were ringing was renting the same make and model.

Sounds crazy? This is where Trusted Computing comes in.

Trusted Computing (TC)

Trusted Computing (sometimes more accurately called "Treacherous Computing") means a computer can only run "Trusted" Software. It is meant to be an uncircumventable protection against nuisances (like viruses or spyware) and copyright violations (people copying proprietary software).

Trusted Computing is control over the computer

The critical thing about Trusted Computing is that you cannot decide what is trustworthy and what is not. For example, your computer might refuse to run programs that are not certified by the software company –programs that could enable you to take documents out of the office, or play your neighbour's DVD, or send your essay to someone not using the same program.

A whole range of possibilities opens up for companies that benefit from restricting your computing (such as proprietary software and recording companies). It is suddenly possible to rent DVDs that only play two times, or music you can only listen to during September, or information you can read but can't save or copy. All of a sudden, Trusted Computing and DRM enable remote control over content.

Trusted Computing, in effect, enables the publisher to write their own copyright law.

The wider impact

Many cultural products are now emerging "triple protected", not only by copyright and code, but also by contracts or licenses for which users waive all remaining rights.

Increasingly, copyright is replaced with click-through end-user licenses for digital content, using contract law to establish the absolute property rights that copyright laws were originally intended to deny to publishers.

Rosemary Bechler, Unbounded Freedom

Computing is not just about calculations anymore. We use software to communicate: to share information, ideas and culture. Software is in our phones, cars, media players, TVs, and gets to govern just about every new device around us.

DRM Randall Munroe, xkcd

Software is increasingly used to enforce rules. Rules that may or may not be the law. Rules that may or may not be fair. If the software is not free there will be no space for the user to influence these rules.

Trusted Computing and DRM pave the way for a society in which culture and information are not simply turned into products (they are right now, and that is fine), but into consumable products.

Code is power. Most of today's work documents are written and encoded with secret algorithms in proprietary software. What will be of tomorrow's books, photos, films, essays, animations, music, news? Proprietary programs such as Windows have no transparency. A free culture and a free society cannot grow from such software.

May we suggest you switch to Linux?

  1. ^ Note that DRM is often referred to as "Digital Rights Management", although it has little to do with rights – "Digital Restrictions Management" is a more accurate name.

Read more

The Right to Read

What is the Trusted Computing world like? This is a short story by Richard Stallman that describes how this can affect any of us.

The fallacy of DRM

A very well constructed article about DRM by Tim Jackson, and on which we based the present article.

Free Knowledge requires Free Software and Free File Formats

An engaged article by Jimmy Wales, who co-founded the free encyclopedia Wikipedia.

Trusted Computing

Short video animation by Benjamin Stephan and Lutz Vogel. A clear, snappy and convincing argument.

Why Software Should Not Have Owners

A pivotal text for the Free Software movement by Richard Stallman. It clarifies common objections and explains a handful of important ideas.

How to Misunderstand Free Software

More on free software on this website.