限制

使用者對 Windows 及 Office 的一個常見誤解是,他們認為自己完全擁有了那些軟體。但事實上,有一部份的法律約束 正綁住他們。

你還沒有讀完你的授權條款?讓我們來幫你完成這項工作吧。

授權條款的簡略版

  • Windows 和 Office 是授權給你用,而非販售給你。

    沒有人能夠真的買到 Windows 或是微軟 Office:使用者只是購買了使用它們的許可權。這份授權條款描述許可權的各項細則。它是一份充滿限制的授權條款,但你只能選擇「接受」以進行安裝。

  • 如果要使用這套軟體,你必須放棄許多權利。

    在法律上,有許多的限制你必須接受。 http://getgnulinux.org/zh-tw/windows/restrictions/further_details限制誰可以使用軟體、你可以透過它賺取什麼樣的收入、以何種方式安裝它、限制你的隱私權、甚至是你能否將其轉送出去:這份列表非常的長,閱讀授權條款並發掘你所剩無幾的權利是件困難的事。

  • 一套 OEM 版本的軟體不能轉移給另一臺電腦。

    如果你購買了預裝 Windows 或 Office 的電腦(也就是所謂的 OEM 授權,或是「膠膜包」Windows光碟),當你想要更換一臺電腦,你就必須重新購買一份授權。 這份授權與你的電腦緊密相連在一起,和你的電腦同生共死。如果你想將這套軟體安裝到其他電腦上,很不幸地,這樣做是違法的。


如果你去檢視大多數的自由軟體網站,只要點按滑鼠幾下就能找到 [GNU] GPL 授權、X 授權、Apache 授權條款…等諸如此類的條款和細則,一樣你必須接受這些條件才能使用這些軟體。

然而,許多的專有軟體公司會將授權條款藏在隱密的地方不讓你看見。一旦你付費購買了他們的產品之後,他們會用這些嚴格的授權條款來限制你一部份大腦的運作,除非你不打算使用他們的軟體。

Don Marti, 2005年的訪談

背後的意涵

像是微軟這類的公司喜歡將他們的軟體比擬作實際的有形硬體產品。然而,專有軟體因為具有充滿限制的授權條款卻顯得格格不入 ─ 諸如此類的限制若發生在汽車或是腳踏車上簡直是無法想像。

使用 Office 及 Windows 的限制是非常嚴苛的,所以許多侵權事件在現實生活中經常發生。人們總是禁不住誘惑,非要只買一份微軟 Office 授權,卻想同時在兩部電腦上啟用它。有些人則是在拋棄他們的舊電腦前備份整個 Windows 系統。更有甚者,人們在不使用以後還拋售二手的 Windows 軟體。

您可以選擇違反此法律,或是在遵守的時候感到非常不舒服。GNU/Linux 是自由軟體(比免費軟體好多了):它的 GPL 條款就是設計用於保護您的權利。

深入瞭解

Restrictions

A common mistake is for Windows and Office users to think that they fully own their software. In fact, there are a number of legal bindings applied to it.

Haven't read your license fully? We did that job for you.

The small print in the contract

  • Windows and Office are licensed, not sold.

    No one can buy Windows or Microsoft Office: instead users purchase a permission to use them. The license describes the terms of this permission. It is the restrictive legal text you have to click "OK" to upon install.

  • You must abandon many rights to use the software.

    There are a number of restrictions that you must accept by law. Restrictions on who can use the software, what kind of revenue you may earn with it, on how you choose to install it, restrictions on your privacy, even on whether you can give it away: the list is long. Reading the license and enumerating your remaining rights is itself a difficult task.

  • An OEM-distributed software cannot be transferred to another computer.

    If you bought your computer with Windows or Office pre-installed (the so-called OEM licenses, or the "shrink wrap" Windows discs), if you change computers you must buy software again. The license is linked to one computer, and expires when the computer dies. It is then illegal to transfer the software on another computer.


If you go to most of the free software sites you can click down a couple of levels and find the [GNU] GPL, the X license, the Apache license, whichever terms and conditions you have to accept in order to use that software.

Now with a proprietary software company, the license is buried so you can't read it until after you have paid for the product, then they're asking you to turn off part of your brain, they're asking you to turn off part of your ability to work with other people and to do business, when you use their software.

Don Marti, 2005 interview

The meaning behind

Companies like Microsoft like to assimilate their software to physical products, when mentioning copyright infringement for example. Yet, proprietary software is very different because of the restrictive license -such restrictions would be unthinkable on a car or bicycle, for example.

Restrictions on the use of Office and Windows are so harsh, that many violations occur everyday around us. People are tempted to buy only one version of Microsoft Office and install it on two computers. Others keep their version of Windows when they throw their PC away. Other people give away their second-hand Windows software when they stop using it.

You have an alternative to breaking this law, or feeling very restrained when you abide to it. GNU/Linux is Free Software (much better than just freeware): its GPL license is designed to protect your rights.

Read more