从 Windows 到 GNU/Linux

这些是用户从 Windows 转到 GNU/Linux 后日常使用软件的比较。

GNU/Linux 做的更好

自由

与 Windows 不同,GNU/Linux 是自由软件(free software)。在所有的电脑上安装它,为你的朋友们制作副本!你可以学习它,定制它或者构建及出售自己的发行版。

程序

GNU/Linux 提供了丰富的免费软件。比如编写论文、刻录音乐光盘、修整照片、设计网站或者整理音乐等等。您不需要购买一个价格高达 200 美元的、受限制的商业软件。

内置的软件安装工具使得寻找、安装或移除程序变得异常简便。

并且这很安全:您可以永远忘记那些残废的试用版软件,和泛滥于网络上的那些有害的免费软件。

不再挣扎

让您的电脑青春常驻无须费功夫。一年之后,GNU/Linux跑起来还跟第一天那么快。它还有可能让您作古的PC起死回生。

并且 GNU/Linux 给予您选择是否使用一个软件的权力。如果您曾经被 IE 浏览器、视窗媒体播放器或广告软件和浏览器工具栏困扰,GNU/Linux 可以带给你清新、无烦恼。

安全

忘记既昂贵又受束缚的病毒查杀、木马查杀和各种专杀吧。GNU/Linux 将会给您一个安全的世界。

通常 Windows 用户都难以相信在 GNU/Linux 下没有恶意软件和病毒但这是现实。任何恶意软件在一个坚固的操作系统下都束手无策。

通常情况下,轻松完成的软件更新会让每个人都处于安全的保障下。

支持

GNU/Linux 的一大优势来自于热心友善的社区成员,他们的亲切会让您感到无限的惊奇。如果您希望做一些复杂的事情却发现自己无能为力,在您身后,将会有无数的人愿意提供帮助。我们的“更多”页面举出了几个例子。

在 GNU/Linux 发行版背后的那些公司——比如 CanonicalRed Hat——将会给您专家级的社区支持。

在 GNU/Linux 中基本无差别

基本上,普通用户会发现 GNU/Linux 在使用上与 Windows 或者 macOS 非常相似。

常规设置

如果仍然认为 GNU/Linux 是通过代码和命令控制的,请赶紧改变您的想法!

和 Windows 一样,GNU/Linux 在您打开计算机时需要引导启动,之后您就可以使用程序来做不同的事情。类似的任务栏和布局会让 Windows 和 macOS 用户感到无比亲切。

网页浏览和一般任务

在 GNU/Linux 上看到的网页和 Windows 下完全相同(事实上您可以选择继续使用您已经在使用的软件如 Firefox 或者 Google Chrome)。当然,您也可以像在Windows下一样查看您的照片,享受您的音乐。文件和文件夹的管理和 Windows 下的 Explorer 非常相似。

GNU/Linux 还不够好的地方

驱动支持

计算机硬件制造商并不总是放出 GNU/Linux 的驱动或者公开所有的技术规格。

所以有时您可能无法找到高端显卡的最新驱动—有些驱动是由志愿者们从 Windows 驱动反编译得来的,而有些驱动是免费,但不自由的。

很不幸的,这个问题在一些低端无线网卡上也会出现。

不过,GNU/Linux 发行版可以在市面上绝大多数的计算机中运行。通用硬件如 U 盘或者相机的使用没有任何问题。

受限制的DVD光盘

不少多媒体格式是受版权限制的,没有完全公开;也就是说,GNU/Linux 开发者通常需要在没有格式设计者帮助的情况下,有独立找出读取它们的方法。

这可能导致尽管您已经合法地购买了它们,却不得不绕开一些 DVD 的限制或音乐文件的 DRM保护,才能在 GNU/Linux 中使用它们。很不幸,在某些地区,这种规避的行为可能是不合法的,即使您已经付了钱。

在 GNU/Linux FAQ 中了解更多信息:

游戏

死忠的计算机游戏者们,可能要让您失望了—— GNU/Linux 下的游戏有些不够专业或者过时了。大的专业游戏公司还没有对自由软件世界提起兴趣,许多知名的游戏或不能在 GNU/Linux 下运行,或者需要受限制的模拟器。

但是在这个自由的世界,有一群向往自由的游戏开发者为自己的梦想奋斗着,他们开发了一些高质量的游戏,除了 2D 外也不乏 3D 作品,并且都是自由软件!你可以在 Ubuntu 游戏论坛了解更多信息。 自从流行的 Steam 游戏平台支持 GNU/Linux 之后,Steam 中支持 GNU/Linux 的游戏稳步增长。

在 GNU/Linux FAQ 中了解更多信息:

休眠

因为上面所述的问题,休眠并不总是稳定的。如果您笔记本的驱动不是自由的,在休眠后您可能会断开与无线网络的连接。

结论

您的 GNU/Linux 使用体验和您的期望直接相关。

  • 如果您希望 GNU/Linux 与 Windows 完全相同,您可能会失望了。GNU/Linux 是由一群有个性的人建立的。在开源社区中,每个人都有对理想操作系统的不同的向往,也正是因为这样,才有了五彩斑斓的 GNU/Linux 世界。
  • 您的自由是我们最大的希望。千千万万的社区和公司为了您对自由的需求不懈奋斗着。使用 GNU/Linux 会让您感受到真正的自由。
  • 这太有趣了!希望拥有这样一个操作系统吗?——没有任何恶意软件,没有任何病毒,没有注册,没有试用!自由地寻找自由的软件吧,让使用计算机突然充满乐趣!

我们期待着您来到 GNU/Linux 阵营中,这里广大的社区在等待着您。没有人会要求您购买,没有人会强迫您注册!

From Windows to Linux

This is what everyday users usually find better, mostly the same, or not as good, when switching from Windows to Linux.

What is better in Linux

It's free

Unlike Windows, GNU/Linux is free software – free as in freedom. Install it on all computers and make copies for your friends! You can even study it, transform it as you please, or build and sell your own distribution.

Programs

There are a wealth of free applications available at no cost under Linux. To edit professional documents, burn music CDs, rework photos, design a website, or organise music; there's no need for $200 software with restrictive licenses.

The internal installer makes it incredibly easy to find, install and remove programs.

It's also safe: you can forget the demo/trial crippled software, or harmful freeware polluting the web.

No fighting

Keeping your computer in shape over time needn't be a struggle. One year on, GNU/Linux runs just as fast as the first day. And it may bring your old PC back to life.

Also, Linux lets you choose what you want and what you don't. If you had a hard time getting rid of MSN Messenger, Windows Update notifications, or Clippit the paperclip, you'll find it refreshing.

Security

Forget expensive and restrictive anti-virus, anti-spyware, anti-anything and anti-everything. Linux is very, very secure.

It is often difficult for Windows users to believe that there are no spyware nor viruses under Linux — but it's true. Malicious programs have a hard time doing anything at all in a well-built system.

Regular, easy software updates will keep everyone entirely safe.

Support

Linux benefits from a great sense of community whose friendliness will surprise you. If you try to do something complicated but can't succeed, there are a lot of people around to help you out. Our "More" page gives a few pointers.

The companies behind the main GNU/Linux distributions, such as Canonical and Red Hat, also provide expert commercial support.

What is mostly the same in Linux

Fundamentally, everyday users will find GNU/Linux similar in use to Windows or Mac OSX.

General set-up

If you still believe Linux is controlled with code and command-line, you should update your views!

Just like Windows, Linux has to boot when you switch your computer on, and then you use programs in it to do different things. The taskbar and layout of applications will feel familiar to Windows or Mac OS users.

Web browsing and common tasks

The Web looks just the same when viewed with Linux (in fact you can browse the Web with the same program if you already use Firefox or Google Chrome). And of course, you can go through your picture and music collection all the same. Files and folders are navigated with a file manager like Windows Explorer.

What is not as good in Linux

Driver support

Manufacturers of computer hardware don't always (yet) release drivers for Linux or publicize full specifications.

So, drivers are sometimes unavailable for the most recent high-end graphics cards — some are reverse-engineered from Windows drivers by volunteers. Some are also released free of charge, but under restrictive licenses.

Sadly, the same problem occurs with many low-end WiFi cards.

However, the vast majority of computers with standard hardware work out of the box with main Linux distributions. Common hardware such as USB keys or photo cameras never are a problem.

DVDs, restricted formats

Many multimedia formats in use are proprietary and not openly specified; this means, broadly speaking, that Linux programmers have to find out how to read them without any help from the format designers.

This might lead you to circumvent the restrictions in some DVDs and the DRM in some music files, even if you purchased them in full legality, to be make them work under Linux. Unfortunately, depending on where you live, such circumvention processes may be illegal even if you purchased your media entirely legally.

Read more in our Linux FAQ:

Gaming

Hard-core computer gamers, you might find that the Linux gaming world is less professional and out-of-the-box than under Windows: the large game developing companies are only slowly getting interested in the free software world, which means that many well-known titles do not work on Linux, or need special restrictive emulators to work.

There is a very active free software game development community though, and they have produced quite a few high-quality games, both 2D and 3D, that are free software. You can head to the Ubuntu gaming forum to find more information.

Read more in our Linux FAQ:

Hibernating

Because of the driver issues above, hibernating is not always reliable. The most common occurrence is the loss of WiFi connection after hibernating on laptops whose hardware drivers are not free.

Conclusion

Whether you are going to enjoy Linux depends mostly on what you expect from it.

  • If you wish Linux to be just exactly like Windows, you will probably be disappointed. GNU/Linux is built by people who simply wish it to be different. In the free software community, members have different visions of what makes an ideal operating system. These differences lead to variety, which is what makes Linux so special and interesting.
  • Your freedom matters. Thousands in communities and companies work to build software on which you may exert this freedom. Using GNU/Linux is the easiest way to do so fully.
  • It's fun! Not having to worry about spyware, viruses, program registrations, demos that expire, or finding software that is really free as in freedom, makes using a computer suddenly very enjoyable.

We hope you'll switch soon. There's a large community waiting, and no one in it asking you to "sign up, purchase and register".

Choose a distribution

Our selection for an easy choice.