什么是 GNU/Linux?

当您听到Linux这个词,出现在您脑海里的可能是一个不修边幅的程序员正对着漆黑的显示屏敲入让人费解的代码。好消息!早已不再是这样了。

小图景

GNU/Linux是一个操作系统,管理计算机的大型软件。 它与 Microsoft Windows类似,但完全免费。GNU/Linux是更准确的名称,然而通常人们称之为"Linux"。

GNU/Linux 不是某一公司的产品,而是由许多公司、小组多方多人协作的成果。事实上 GNU/Linux是核心组件,它分支为诸多不同的产品,称为发行版

发行版彻底改变了 GNU/Linux 的外观和功能。从得到全力支持的完整的大型系统(由公司支撑)到可以嵌入 USB 中或者运行在陈旧的计算机之上的轻型系统(常由自愿者开发),不一而足。

使用 GNU/Linux

GNU/Linux 并不比 Windows 难用,且具有更多功能。仅需十多分钟就能熟悉使用我们推荐的新手友好发行版,它们都预装了很多应用程序。

如果您的工作涉及商业文件、因特网/网络或者多媒体与图像等,系统预装的具有商业质量的软件可以直接支持。还要更多?GNU/Linux 照样办到。你可以找到数以百计的免费而优质的应用软件,干净利落地安装卸载。

你不应该把 GNU/Linux 想象成 Windows 的克隆。想知道使用它有什么值得期待吗,建议你阅读我们的切换一页。

大图景

获得一个 GNU/Linux 发行版,就同时获得了研习、拷贝、修改以及重发布它的自由。正是如此才使之真正成为自由软件

很多公司在核心的GNU软件基础上开发出自己的操作系统: 他们无法独有的产品。何以使然呢?

  • 多数公司通过推销他们围绕其GNU/Linux发行版提供的支持与服务盈利。公司的客户则购买有保障的安全更新与协助。其他的服务还包括培训以及对软件应需改进。
  • 一些公司,如 HP 或 IBM,也为 GNU/Linux 做贡献,那是因为他们在其发售的服务器上预装了 GNU/Linux。
  • 一个范围极广的社区参与软件的开发与改进,降低成本的同时也提高了效率。

最终,终端个人用户常常无需花钱便获得了软件,而公司客户则乐意花钱以获得更多的支持。

What is GNU/Linux?

When you hear the word Linux, you may think of programmers with a beard typing obscure code on a black screen. Good news! things have changed.

The picture

Linux is an operating system, a large piece of software that manages a computer. It is similar to Microsoft Windows, but it is entirely free. The accurate name is GNU/Linux but "Linux" is used more often.

Linux is not one company's product, but a number of companies and groups of people contribute to it. In fact, the GNU/Linux system is a core component, which is branched off into many different products. They are called distributions.

Distributions change the appearance and function of Linux completely. They range from large, fully supported complete systems (endorsed by companies) to lightweight ones that fit on a USB memory stick or run on old computers (often developed by volunteers).

Using Linux

GNU/Linux is no harder to use than Windows, and has many more capabilities. It just takes a dozen minutes to get familiar with a distribution like Ubuntu or Fedora, which come in with many programs installed.

If you need commercial-quality software to work with business documents, Internet/networking, or multimedia and graphics, it's there right out of the box. Want more than that? Linux can do – there are many hundreds of free, high quality applications you can find, install and uninstall neatly and easily.

You shouldn't assume however, that Linux is a clone of Windows. To know what to expect when stepping into it, we suggest you read our Making the switch page.

The larger picture

When you get a distribution of GNU/Linux, you also get the freedom to study, copy, change, and redistribute it – that's what makes it truly free software.

Many companies develop their own operating system based on the core GNU software: products they do not have exclusive rights on. How does the wheel turn?

  • Most companies make a profit by selling support and services around their GNU/Linux distribution. Corporate customers buy guaranteed security updates and assistance. Other services often include training and on-demand improvements to software.
  • Some companies, such as HP or IBM, contribute to Linux because they pre-install it on servers they sell.
  • An extremely wide community participates in the development and improvement of software, decreasing costs and improving efficiency.

In the end, individual end-users often get the software at zero cost, while corporate customers are often happy to pay for more support.

Why not Windows

Why we should avoid using Microsoft Windows

Switch to Linux

Where to download and how to step into Linux